Sections

Labor and Employment

Upcoming Events

Settling Employment Cases When Insurance is in Play

New events are added regularly. Visit the ACBA calendar for more upcoming ACBA events. To view past programming on demand, please visit acbanet.prolearn.io/home.

About the Section

The ACBA Labor & Employment Law Section conducts continuing legal education programs, publishes and distributes educational materials, and engages in activities to enhance the competence and professional development of lawyers.   

In carrying out this important work on behalf of the Alameda County Bar Association, the Labor & Employment Section is committed to anti-racism and dedicated to the active fight against discrimination in all of its forms.  The Executive Committee pledges to:

  1. Dedicate a significant portion of its programming to issues involving economic justice in the labor and employment sectors;
  2. Foster racial diversity, equity, and inclusion by featuring underrepresented voices in its programming; and
  3. Commit to increasing racial diversity, equity, and inclusion within the membership and leadership of the Labor & Employment Law Section.

To join the section, please contact our Membership Department at (510) 302-2200 or julia@acbanet.org.

Section Listserv

Did you know you can create and send posts to your section community directly from your email inbox? With our Groupvine platform, you can communicate with your section about new updates in your practice area, questions about your practice, changes in laws, discussion about past MCLE programs, and more! Learn more

Executive Committee
Darin_Jake-150x150

Jake Darin

chair

Hunter Pyle Law
428 13th St, 11th Floor
Oakland, CA 94612
jdarin@hunterpylelaw.com
(510) 444-4400

profile blank icon

Jennifer Achtert

Member

UCOP
Jennifer.Achtert@ucop.edu

profile blank icon

Susan Brown

Member

susan@susanbrownlegal.com

profile blank icon

Darci Burrel

Member

darci@burrellkagin.com

Burton_Jocelyn_website-150x150

Jocelyn Burton

Member

Burton Employment Law
1939 Harrison Street, Suite 400 Oakland, CA 94612
jburton@
burtonemploymentlaw.com
(510) 350-7025

profile blank icon

Christy Kotowski

Member

christy.kotowski@ust.com

profile blank icon

Donald Lancaster

Member

dlancaster@thelancasterlawgroup.com

profile blank icon

Ocean Mottley

Member
profile blank icon

David Ratner

Member

dsratner@gmail.com

profile blank icon

Peter Rukin

Member
profile blank icon

Laura Van Note

Member

lvn@colevannote.com

Rebecca Peterson-Fisher

Rebecca Peterson-Fisher

Alternate

The Liu Law Firm, P.C.
2831 Telegraph Avenue, Oakland, CA 94609
510-698-9273
rpetersonfisher@liulawpc.com