Sections

Alternative Dispute Resolution Section

Upcoming Events

Trauma-Informed Tools to Overcome Friction, Avoidance, and Accessibility Challenges – 2/6/24

Techniques for Breaking Impasse at Mediations – 4/2/24

New events are added regularly. Visit the ACBA calendar for more upcoming ACBA events. To view past programming on demand, please visit acbanet.prolearn.io/home.

ADR Section meeting

Click here for ADR photo album

About the ADR Section

The Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR) Section promotes litigation alternatives by providing a forum for information-exchange and discussion, and serving as a liaison with the judiciary. The Section, led by the Executive Committee, also presents several MCLEs and networking opportunities throughout the year.

To join the section, please contact our Membership Department at (510) 302-2200 or julia@acbanet.org.

Executive Committee Meetings

The Executive Committee is responsible for planning the section’s MCLEs and other networking events throughout the year. The Executive Committee meets the second Wednesday of every month, except for July, August and December. If you would like to receive minutes, agendas, or if you would like to attend an Executive Committee meeting, please contact Julia Hall at julia@acbanet.org or (510) 302-2221.

Section Listserv

Did you know you can create and send posts to your section community directly from your email inbox? With our Groupvine platform, you can communicate with your section about new updates in your practice area, questions about your practice, changes in laws, discussion about past MCLE programs, and more! Learn more

Executive Committee
profile blank icon

Melissa Polk

chair

Law Office of Melissa D. Polk
580 California St., Suite 1600
San Francisco, CA 94104
melissa@polklaw.net
(415) 283-3229

profile blank icon

Daniel Lebel

Vice-Chair

danlebel@consumerlawpractice.com

profile blank icon

Mark A. Goodman

Member

Law Office of Mark A. Goodman
4096 Piedmont Ave, #607
Oakland, CA 94611
mark@mgoodlaw.com
(510) 652-7888

profile blank icon

Michael Notaro

Member

mnotaro1@sbcglobal.net

profile blank icon

Gary Sanders

member

1 Ross Drive
Moraga, CA 94556
gbsanders78@gmail.com
(925) 216-9116

Alice Shikina

member

Shikina Mediation and Arbitration
7339 Holly Street
Oakland, CA 94621
alice.shikina@gmail.com
(415) 793-8729

profile blank icon

Galen Sorrells

Member

galen.sorrells@gmail.com

profile blank icon

Christine Whalen

member

Laughlin Legal, PC
950 Tower Lane, Suite 1225
Foster City, CA 94404
cwhalen@laughlinlegal.com
(415) 830-0117

profile blank icon

Emerita Alavarado

alternate

ADR Program Administrator
Superior Court of California, County of Alameda
Hayward Hall of Justice
24405 Amador Street
Hayward, CA 94544
ealvarado@alameda.courts.ca.gov
(510) 891-6388

Salma Taleb

Staff Liaison

Director of Membership and Operations
Salma@acbanet.org
(510) 302-2217