Sections

Alternative Dispute Resolution Section

Upcoming Events

Mediating with the Dept of Police Accountability 9/1

Virtual Fall Cooking Class and Social 9/29

Everything You Need to Know About Private Judging 10/6

Arbitration for Litigators 10/28

New events are added regularly. Visit the ACBA calendar for more upcoming ACBA events. To view past programming on demand, please visit acbanet.prolearn.io/home.

About the ADR Section

The Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR) Section promotes litigation alternatives by providing a forum for information-exchange and discussion, and serving as a liaison with the judiciary. The Section, led by the Executive Committee, also presents several MCLEs and networking opportunities throughout the year.

To join the section, please contact our Membership Department at (510) 302-2200 or hadassah@acbanet.org.

Executive Committee Meetings

The Executive Committee is responsible for planning the section’s MCLEs and other networking events throughout the year. The Executive Committee meets the second Wednesday of every month, except for July, August and December. If you would like to receive minutes, agendas, or if you would like to attend an Executive Committee meeting, please contact Hadassah Hayashi at hadassah@acbanet.org or (510) 302-2200.

Executive Committee
Alice Shikina

Alice Shikina

Chair

Shikina Mediation and Arbitration
7339 Holly Street
Oakland, CA 94621
alice.shikina@gmail.com
(415) 793-8729

profile blank icon

Christine Whalen

Vice Chair

Laughlin Legal, PC
950 Tower Lane, Suite 1225
Foster City, CA 94404
cwhalen@laughlinlegal.com
(415) 830-0117

profile blank icon

Gary Sanders

Secretary

1 Ross Drive
Moraga, CA 94556
gbsanders78@gmail.com
(925) 216-9116

Judge Wynne Carville, JAMS Mediator and Arbitrator

Hon. Wynne Carvill

Member

JAMS Mediator and Arbitrator
Two Embarcadero Center, Suite 1500
San Francisco, CA 94111
WCarvill@jamsadr.com
(415) 774-2600

profile blank icon

Mark A. Goodman

Member

Law Office of Mark A. Goodman
4096 Piedmont Ave, #607
Oakland, CA 94611
mark@mgoodlaw.com
(510) 652-7888

profile blank icon

Melissa Polk

Member

Law Office of Melissa D. Polk
580 California St., Suite 1600
San Francisco, CA 94104
melissa@polklaw.net
(415) 283-3229

Yvette Durazo

Yvette Durazo, MA, ACC 

Member

Unitive Consulting
P.O. Box 4443, Santa Clara, CA 95056
unitiveconsulting@gmail.com
(888) 221-0208

profile blank icon

Galen Sorrells

Member

Attorney
1511 Sycamore Ave #M-192
Hercules, CA 94547
g_sorrells@hotmail.com

profile blank icon

Natalia Ventsko

Member

Law Office of Natalia A. Ventsko
P.O. Box 731
Fremont, CA 94536
natalia@ventskolaw.com
(510) 921-4616

Mattie Robertson

Mattie Robertson

EX-OFICIO

Deputy Director, Center for Negotiation and Dispute Resolution
UC Hastings Law
100 McAllister Street, Suite 408
San Francisco, CA 94102
robertsonmattie@uchastings.edu
415.581.8936

profile blank icon

Emerita Alvarado

EX-OFICIO

ADR Program Administrator
Superior Court of California, County of Alameda
Hayward Hall of Justice
24405 Amador Street
Hayward, CA 94544
ealvarado@alameda.courts.ca.gov
(510) 891-6388

Hadassah

Hadassah Hayashi

Staff Liaison

Deputy Director
1000 Broadway, Suite 290
Oakland, CA 94607
hadassah@acbanet.org
(510) 302-2200